“Cruelty-free” means that a product and its ingredients weren’t tested on animals.

“Handmade”, “handcrafted”, ”hand-sewn”, ”hand-knit”, “hand-painted”, “hand-altered” means made by hand or using the hands, as opposed to by mass production or using machinery. Items could be made from scratch, or an existing object could have been modified in a way that reflects the artist’s creativity.

Handcrafted products take more time to produce, but can offer higher quality, more attention to detail and uniqueness. That is why the cost of that kind of product is higher. The nature of handmade goods means that there are fewer of them, so whatever you’re wearing or eating or adding to your home is as unique as you are. Work done by hand takes less energy than a mass production assembly line, which makes it more environmentally sustainable. It takes more time.

Organic plants are grown and processed without artificial pesticides, fertilisers, or herbicides.

In order to guarantee that products are organic, they need to be certified. Organic certification involves auditing an operation’s methods to ensure that they comply with the guidelines of organic production.

“Natural ingredients” means – free of synthetic or artificial ingredients or additives

“Vegan”, “Vegan-Friendly” and “100% Vegan” products must not contain any animal-derived ingredients.

Below is a list of some of the most common animal-derived ingredients and their vegan counterparts.

Beeswax – Vegan-friendly alternatives exist in the form of plant and soya waxes.

Glycerine – It can be derived from soya, coconut oil, or palm oil as well.

Lanolin – Alternatives include plant oils (i.e. coconut, olive) and butter (shea and coconut).

Collagen – Plant-based alternatives include soy protein and almond oil.

Elastin – Vegan alternatives include hyaluronic acid and MSM.

Keratin – Soya protein and almond oil are used as vegan alternatives.

Animal hair – coconut bristle, synthetic and other options are available.

Squalene – Vegan squalene exists and is derived from olives and wheat germ.

Gelatin – A vegan alternative is made of seaweed.

Oleic acid – can be plant-derived from a number of sources, including coconut, olives, and nuts. These forms may be labelled as vegan.

Stearic Acid – A vegan alternative (also called stearic acid) can be derived from plant fats. As well as being cruelty-free, the vegan version is also less likely to irritate the skin.

Shopping Cart